The Challenges of a Growth Mindset

What it feels like to have a fixed mindset

Harley Bell
4 min readDec 2, 2023
A child at the bottom of lots of stairs
Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

I have a fixed mindset

Oh, self-reflection. Oh, mirror of my mind. I’ve developed a fixed mindset.
I’ve become a statue carved in stone and my chisel is out of reach.

I’ve heard about this elusive state called the growth mindset. You see, people who have a growth mindset believe that even if they struggle, their abilities aren’t set in stone. But concrete has long since set around my feet. I am no dancer. I am mountain, ground down to sand.

There are many challenges to achieve a perpetual growth mindset.

This is my journey through the dark days to reach a positive space inside myself.

I hope by shining light into the caves of my internal landscape, I can make your journey a little easier.

Setbacks

I’ve been facing setbacks in the pursuit of my dreams. But rather than seeing this as an opportunity to improve.
I feel defeated and daunted by the prospect of trying again. I do not know when I became like this.

A growth mindset embraces challenges and keeps working through obstacles. A growth mindset learns from criticism, rejection and…

--

--

Harley Bell

I write about writing, creativity and business. I'm currently working on a poetry book, titled Wild Altar. www.harleybellwriter.com