I Made 16cents On Medium Last Month

Here’s What I’m Doing About It

Harley Bell
3 min readJul 12, 2023
by Harley Bell

I’m celebrating the small wins.

My meagre earnings would have embarrassed a younger version of myself. But there is power to be found by admitting the truth. It’s to do with the practice radical vulnerability. If I want to change my work ethic, first I need to be honest with myself.

I currently have 15 email subscribers and a sincere desire to improve.
I make about 16cents for each article and they take me hours to write.
I only wrote one article last month.

Here’s what I’m doing to improve my situation and grow as a writer.

I’m focusing on my habits

My bad habits have been with me longer than the good. Caffeine addiction. Sleeping in. Scrolling, screens and video games. Here’s the kicker. These habits are far harder to change than I thought.

But I’m making incremental improvements. The main thing I’m focusing on is increasing my personal energy. I’m introducing exercise to my diet. I’m switching from coffee to cups of tea in the afternoon. I’m drinking more water.

I’m also pushing myself to learn about productivity. But the most important thing is…

--

--

Harley Bell

I write about writing, creativity and business. I'm currently working on a poetry book, titled Wild Altar. www.harleybellwriter.com