I had an epiphany while I was stuck in traffic

lessons in becoming mindful in mundane and frustrating situations

Harley Bell
4 min readAug 1, 2021
Photo by Maulik Shah on Unsplash

I am stuck in traffic. It’s stagnant and static and so slow. It’s barely moving. Creeping one car at a time into a merge lane. I’m hardly moving but my thoughts move into frustration.

I am annoyed. Then anxious. I’m going to be late. Late. All because these tar-eaters don’t know how to merge.

I wind down my window. Ready to yell. Ready to hollar.

Then I realize: I am the traffic.

It’s a simple truth. A tiny epiphany. But one that makes me think about my behavior.

I wasn’t always like this. Somewhere, somehow through the years of my life. I have become that guy on the road. I have let my unsettled emotions escape into anger.

Why am I being impatient?

Why am I externalizing my blame?

Let’s see. Did I leave myself enough time in the morning to beat the traffic?

No. Why? Because I went to bed late. Got up late. Because I was on a YouTube wormhole about WWII. Because I dreamt about death.

Why? Because I was not satisfied with my day. My mind needed to be occupied.

--

--

Harley Bell

I write about writing, creativity and business. I'm currently working on a poetry book, titled Wild Altar. www.harleybellwriter.com