A Poetry Book in Progress

I would love to share my passion project with you

Harley Bell
5 min readJul 5, 2023
by Harley Bell

I would love to share my passion project with you. It’s a poetry book, called Wild Altar. It’s currently a finished second draft. My instinct tells me that it needs one more draft. One more round of writing before I can begin another type of work: finding the right publisher.

The book consists of 56 poems. So far, four poems have been published in journals. I will link to them at the end of this article.

I want to share my process and progress with you. Let’s talk about poetry.

What is Wild Altar about?

I’ve been so deeply inside this project and I struggle to say what it’s actually about. I’m sure that I’m not the only writer to have experienced this. Writers tend towards introversion. But one of the ways to find clarity is to encourage it.

I’ve been in a few conversations recently, where my elevator pitch got caught in my throat. More accurately, I had no idea how to talk about this book. As always, it’s only after I’ve suffered that I do something about it. This is the start of something; here’s to clarity.

Wild Altar was written on the road. While travelling around New Zealand (this is my home country), from the Lower…

--

--

Harley Bell

I write about writing, creativity and business. I'm currently working on a poetry book, titled Wild Altar. www.harleybellwriter.com